Posted on by MPV Sports

Pic: ICC

Papua New Guinea's Under 19 team, the Garamuts, have done well to return back to the Under 19 World Cup in New Zealand after securing their place during the Asia Pacific qualifiers in Apia, Samoa earlier this month.

But the task ahead won't be of the same level as what they have recently faced and will be up against powerhouse cricket nations.  Not that the other groups are any easier but it will certainly be a huge job ahead.

On Thursday, the ICC announced that PNG has been slotted in Group B with last World Cup runner-up India, Australia and Zimbabwe.

Current champions West Indies are in Group A with hosts New Zealand, South Africa and Kenya.

In previous outings, Papua New Guinea haven’t fared too well but entering this level is a significant achievement in itself and Papua New Guinea should be proud to reach this stage.

The complete Pool groups are as follows:

Group A
Windies, New Zealand, South Africa, Kenya

Group B
India, Australia, Zimbabwe, Papua New Guinea

Group C
Bangladesh, Canada, England, Namibia

Group D
Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Scotland